Sak Yant Tattoo Designs and Meanings

Sak Yant Hah Taew aka the Five Line Sak Yant

The Sak Yant Hah Taew dates its origin back over 700 years to the ancient Kingdom of Lanna which is now known as Northern Thailand.  The Buddhist Monk credited with the design of the Hah Taew 5 Lines Sak Yant is Kruba Kam of Wat Ton Pin, a Buddhist Temple in Chiang Mai, which unfortunately no longer exists today. Kruba Kam designed the Hah Taew at around the time King Mengrai founded the city of Chiang Mai in 1296.

Over the centuries, either by accident or design, the original 5 lines of script which were written in Khom, an ancient Khmer language, underwent several changes and in recent years, several Sak Yant Ajarns have completely replaced the original 5 lines of script with lines of their own. 

The 5 lines of script (transcribed) used in the original Hah Taew design are:

1. i ra cha ka ta ra sa
2. ti hang ja toh loh ti nang
3. soh ma na ga ri tah toh
4. pi sam lah loh pu sa pu
5. ka pu bam too tahm wa ka

Hah Taew, represents 5 yants or magical spells.  Each one will be done individually and the following magical spells have been cast to do as described below.

1. The first row prevents unjust punishment and leans in your favor when the area is grey, cleans out unwanted spirits and protects the place you live in. 

2. The second row reverses and protects against bad horoscope constellations and bad fortune. 

3. The third row protects you from the use of black magic and anyone who tries to put a curse on you. 

4. The fourth row energizes your good luck, success and fortune in your future ambitions and life style.

5.The fifth row  is to gain charisma and attraction to the opposite sex. It is also is a boost to the fourth row.


Na Hnaa Tong Sak Yant


Intended to attract friendly interest, love and compassion – protection From illness is also inflected with Na Hnaa Tong

Contains 108 kinds of blessings. Especially in the popularity and wealth, the effect is significant. Super strong increase of popularity, everything goes smoothly, responsive,  everyone sees like you all the time,  improve the interpersonal relationship;:friends, family, lover, boss, colleagues, customers, will be very loved for you, and there is a strong effect for wealth.


Yant Mangkorn Bung Pai

Mangkorn means dragon and in this Yant the dragon is spelled to protect the wearers from all dangers and bad lucks.

Lucky, disaster prevention, risk avoidance, authority, courage and confidence.


Gao Yord Sak Yant aka the Nine Peaks Sak Yant

Based off the mythical Mount Meru, the nine peaks of this Sak Yant is a favorite among many who choose it for its universal powers. Mentions of the mountain can be found in Hindu, Buddhists and Javanese texts. It is revered for being at the center of the earth. Some followers believe that Mount Meru could be Mount Kailash.

Just like the Hah Taew, this design is believed to bring luck and protection too. The only difference is that the protection that this Sak Yant has is more. The person who has this tattooed on his or her body is believed to wield authority over others.

There is also a belief that this Sak Yant helps to improve popularity and brings its holder closer to his or her destiny.


Paed Tidt Sak Yant aka the Eight Directions Sak Yant

This Sak Yant is considered to be the most representative of the Buddha 八方转运轮

This Sak Yant is believed to represent the eight divisions of his teachings: right view, right intention, right speech, right conduct, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, and right concentration.

The Yant is for pulling in good luck and protection from all 8 directions. This is an excellent tattoo with powerful Yants to help you in the future which is another form of travelling but has no compass directions. Do not limit your mind.


Phra Rahu Sak Yant

It is a demon of Hindu mythology that tries to eat the moon and the sun, causing eclipses. He also likes to eat the negative energy of people, so its effect is considered positive.


Phra Pidta Sak Yant

The meaning of closed eyes Buddha is to be indifferent to all external temper and emotions. Some experts believe that is a form of evolution through the transformation of the God of Fortune or Sangajayana.